That special offer

Most of my beer purchases these days are from the supermarket. I’m not complaining – you can get some good stuff these days – but there is a certain kind of beer that seems to find its way into my stash and then stay there for rather a long time. I’m talking about 3-for-2 offers and the like, and the kind of decent but unexciting beer that usually feature in them.

So: note to self. Next time I’m in the ‘ale’ section, don’t buy

Thwaites Double Century
Marston’s Oyster Stout
Ringwood Old Thumper
Theakston’s Old Peculier
Fuller’s 1845
St Austell Tribute

There’s absolutely nothing wrong with any of these – they even come in brown glass. I just don’t find myself looking at them, days or weeks later, and thinking “oh good, I’m glad I got one of those“. Same goes for

most other things by Thwaites
most other things by Marston’s
anything by Holt’s

To be clear, these aren’t bad bottled beers – that’s a different list (which I won’t give here). These ones are usually perfectly good. They’re just not very inspiring.

On the other hand (note to self continues), feel free to go mad and get some of these, three for two or no three for two:

Duvel
Old Tom (original)
Guinness Foreign
Brakspear Triple
Timothy Taylor Landlord
anything by Adnam’s (even that weird blue thing, maybe)
Fuller’s Bengal Lancer
Thwaites Indus IPA
anything pale’n’oppy
anything that looks interesting, dammit

Perhaps I need to go back to getting beer from offies – our local Oddbins stocks Red Willow and Buxton, I noticed the other day. They don’t do three for two, though.

Update I’ve now been to the supermarket; I came back with
Old Tom
Landlord
Adnam’s Broadside
a 6% own-brand porter brewed by Harviestoun
a silly-% own-brand DIPA, also brewed in Scotland
a Budvar Dunkel

costing an average of £1.25 each (!). So far the plan seems to be working. Nothing pale’n’oppy, though – maybe I need to brave the offie. (Or I could just go down the pub.)

6 Comments

  1. pubcurmudgeon
    Posted 13 September, 2012 at 9:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Interesting difference in psychology, but I always tend to buy beers for expected consumption in the next 14 days max, not to “lay up”. While special offers may have an influence on the beers I buy, I’ll only choose from the range of beers I know I will want to drink, or which I haven’t had before but think are worth trying.

    Did you see this post on the subject by Paul Bailey, btw?

    • Phil
      Posted 14 September, 2012 at 6:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Interesting post – I was particularly struck by the comparison between the dire state of German beer and the great stuff being produced by a tiny brewing elite in the US (“the land with no purity law, no beer culture, no centuries of tradition, where almost nobody even knows the word pilsener”). Just made me thank God for CAMRA, or as I now call it the Campaign For Decent Beer For All.

  2. Posted 14 September, 2012 at 8:39 am | Permalink | Reply

    Haha “anything by Adnam’s (even that weird blue thing, maybe)” – Spindrift is a brilliantly hoppy lager. Definitely get a bottle!

  3. Posted 14 September, 2012 at 10:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    We might swap a couple from one list to the other but, yeah, the point holds. Our monthly delivery tends to include the same handful of beers: Duvel, Bengal Lancer, Punk IPA, Weihenstephan wheat beer and maybe Goose Island IPA, if they’ve got it. We always have a look when we’re actually in a supermarket but usually come away empty-handed: down here, the selection is not only smaller but is made up mostly of the less impressive ‘Cornish ales’. Bah.

  4. Posted 14 September, 2012 at 3:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I see the Tesco offer of 4 for £6 which has been running for a few months has now dropped back down to 4 for £5 recently, wonder if they were not shifting sales as much.

    A couple of months ago I picked up from Morrisons a crate of Brakespear Triple for a stupidly reduced price, something like 7 or 8 quid. And when i say a crate i mean 3, currently in the shed slowly being consumed.

    • Phil
      Posted 14 September, 2012 at 6:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Three crates? You’ll never get through that lot on your own. Give us your address, I’ll come round and give you a hand.

Leave a Reply

