Taxi for Mr Nelson

A couple of postscripts to earlier posts. I wrote about my ideal jukebox here; alternatively, how about this?

Gruff Rhys, “Candylion”
Lazy, shuffling, whimsical psychedelia. The Neutrons meet De La Soul, essentially.

the Clash, “Train in vain”
Ah, you know this one. No, you do. I was a huge fan of Mick Jones until he got kicked out of the band – the B*A*D stuff just wasn’t the same.

Bob Dylan, “Highway 61 revisited”
If you don’t know this one, make its acquaintance immediately. Seriously.

The The, “This is the day”
“Well, you didn’t wake up this morning, ’cause you didn’t go to bed…” One of the all-time great life-affirming songs, in spite of the fact that a lot of what it’s affirming is groundless optimism – or perhaps because of it.

Talking Heads, “Born under punches”
“Well, I’m a tumbler – Born under punches – I’m so thin…” All this over something polyrhythmic, futuristic and vaguely Latin in the background. Probably Talking Heads’ greatest album, and not the worst track on it.

Richard Hawley, “Who’s going to shoe your pretty little foot?”
Bring it down. The Yorkshire crooner does something traditional at last (I knew he could).

Faust, “It’s a bit of a pain”
A pretty little tune interrupted by bursts of white noise and tailing off into an atonal guitar solo. Nice.

the Pet Shop Boys with Dusty Springfield, “What have I done to deserve this?”
Oh. My. God. This hits me between the eyes every time. I know every word of Neil Tennant’s rap, but really I wish I could hit Dusty’s high notes.

There’s one big difference between that and my earlier list, which is that you can currently select all of these songs in one place, at Electrik in Chorlton. Perhaps not my ideal jukebox (see previous post) but it’s pretty close – and it has one major advantage, which is that it’s free. And the beer’s pretty good too – but more on that anon.

2 Comments

  1. Posted 26 March, 2011 at 12:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so pleased I don’t live in Chorlton anymore…and 10 years in Manchester is enough to drive anyone crazy.

    • Phil
      Posted 26 March, 2011 at 8:26 am | Permalink | Reply

      I guess they don’t go in much for modern ‘pop’ music in Derbyshire…

Leave a Reply

