It’s only just begun

Although this blog has been around in some form for a couple of years, I’ve only been posting regularly since August – so I can’t possibly write a proper Review of the Year, Golden Pints-style. Also, I’m late with this already, and if I had to think of something for all those headings it’d be February before I got it finished. So this is what you’re getting.

Bottled beers of the year
Howard Town Dark Peak, Cumbrian Legendary Ales Croglin Vampire, HardKnott Dark Energy… I don’t have to pick just one, do I?

Cask beers of the year
Spingo Middle, Conwy Celebration, Yates Wight Old Ale, BrewDog 5 A.M. Saint.

Keg beer of the year
Shut up.

Beer festival of the year
National Winter Ales Festival

Pub of the year
The Beech, Chorlton. We sometimes see landlords praised for bringing pubs back from the brink; in the last few years the Beech has actually gone over the brink and closed down altogether, not once but twice. So all praise to the current landlord and his team, who are steadily turning the pub back into what it was 10-15 years ago, a thriving community pub. (Incidentally, you’ll never see a guest beer at the Beech: Timothy Taylor’s Landlord and Golden Best, Black Sheep Bitter, Copper Dragon Golden Pippin and, er, that’s it. Four session bitters, always on, all in good condition. It’s one way to do it.)

Blogs of the year
I wasn’t expecting anyone to nominate this blog on only four months’ approval, and I certainly wasn’t expecting to get the nod from Tandleman or Ed – many thanks, and I hope I can keep it up next… um, this year. Among my other favourite blogs are: the refreshing astringency of the Pub Curmudgeon; the encyclopedia in instalments that is Zythophile; and the legend that is Cooking Lager.

In 2011 I would most like to
get some more beer to review; go on another Twissup; find Zeitgeist on cask.

2 Comments

  1. Posted 7 January, 2011 at 8:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Zeitgeist on cask is fantastic – we caught it at perfection a while ago and couldn’t resist a second pint even though there was a BrewDog beer festival on.

    Why the keg category but with that answer?! Why not just ignore it…

  2. Phil
    Posted 7 January, 2011 at 11:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I had Zeitgeist on gravity, no less, at a beer festival a couple of years ago – superb stuff. I was quite disappointed with the bottled version. BD brew some amazing cask beer – I just wish they’d focus more on that side of the business.

    The keg thing was just a joke – it wasn’t actually meant as me telling craft keg types to shut up, so sorry if it came across that way.

Leave a Reply

